LAPG launches 11th Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Awards

Primary tabs

The Legal Aid Practitioners Group is seeking nominations for the 2013 Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year awards, which are now into their eleventh year.


The judging panel is being chaired by Lord Justice Andrew McFarlane, and includes the justice campaigner Doreen Lawrence, and leading civil liberties solicitor Louise Christian. Barrister and broadcaster Clive Coleman will announce the winners at a ceremony at Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre, on 2 July.


The LALYs are a unique celebration of those at the legal aid coalface and are organised on a not-for-profit basis by the grassroots organisation LAPG.


The group is seeking nominations this year in 9 categories:


Criminal defence

Family legal aid

Social and welfare lawyer

Mental health lawyer

Immigration lawyer

Legal aid firm/Not-for-profit agency

Legal aid barrister

Legal aid newcomer: lawyer

Legal aid newcomer: barrister


As well as selecting the winners in each of the individual categories, the judges will also be making a special award for Outstanding Achievement.


For the first time, relevant categories are being opened up to a broader range of lawyers, including legal executives and case workers. In another reflection of the changing shape of the profession, sponsors this year include the Chartered Institute of Legal Executives and Co-operative Legal Services (for full list of sponsors, see below).


Carol Storer LAPG director said: ‘With the cuts in legal aid scope just a matter of weeks away now, the 2013 awards are the last time that lawyers in some crucial areas of law will be able to be honoured in this way. We are hoping for a bumper crop of nominations as a result.’


The deadline for nominations is Friday 26 April 2013 and the shortlist will be announced in May.


Download the LALY Nomination Form and see the website: